Luisma’s annual “Runaway Soul Weekender” is a unique event that I’ve been privileged to be involved with from the very first in Llanes five years ago. 
It is without doubt one of the highlights of the year & this year proved to be no exception!I suppose the best way to describe the weekend is a party of friendly, knowledgable people(myself excluded), a plethora of fantastic black soul music spanning fives decades, outstanding food & wine all set in luxurious surroundings in the charming, green rolling hills of the picturesque rural region of Asturias. The Dj line up for the weekend this year was,Dave & Jordi Ripolles(UK), Jadd(Madrid),Nick The Record(UK), JosepA(Valencia), Juan(Oviedo), Juan Vicente & Hermino(stepping in for Mick H who unfortunately fell ill a few days before), Joel Maslin(The Moon), David de Santiago(Hades), Luisma(The Boss) & me(God Knows).We arrived on Friday afternoon, we being, Dru, Tracy, Pete, Maslin & I. 
After travelling first class courtesy of Sir Stelios’s luxury easyJet & thanks to an early morning quaffing session at Stansted’s J.D. Wetherspoons we arrived refreshed & raring to go albeit an hour later than scheduled in Asturias!

There we met up with Team Rippoles, Dave, Jordi, Debbie & Glenda along with the other fellow UKspinner of the weekend Nick The Record.   

Waiting at the airport we were collected by two nice chaps whose names escape me & whisked through the beautiful Asturian countryside, arriving just under an hour later at The Palacio De Meras in the small picturesque town of Tineo. 

For those that have never been, the weekend is held in a former medieval palace which has been tastefully refurbished into a luxury hotel & spa. 

Once settled into our rooms it was down to the hotel bar, where we thought best to sample some of the fine local wines, ales & sidras whilst meeting & catching up with old friends. 

The Friday evening session soon came around after a delightful feast of fine Asturian fare including a rather bizarre selection of cold meats arranged in the shape of a butterfly!!

It took a little while to get going Friday night as friends who hadn’t seen each other for a while caught up but by midnight everyone seemed to be on the same level & in a party mood. 

From what I remember all the Dj’s played some cracking spots with an interesting mixture including rare Northern,60’s,70’s & 80’s soul,funk,Jazz,crossover & more! 

Can’t remember if I survived till the bitter end but I know I had a blinding night, followed by a blinding hangover!!

Fortunately help was at hand in the form of the luxury spa & pool! 

Sporting ridiculously small swimming briefs & blue shower caps Joel & I were re-invigorated with a swim,sauna & steam session. 

The hotel spa really is something else! Each guest gets a free spa session to use with their stay at the hotel. I would highly recommend anyone staying to go have a dip. 

If you do, just make sure the cord on your swimming pants is tied securely before getting near the underwater power jet……unlike me!!

Feeling like new men we ventured up the hill to the “The   Shot Bar”(a restaurant/bar with spectacular views of the surrounding countryside & mountains) for the afternoon’s frivolities! 

More great food & sidra(the local cider of the region, poured from a height in a special way to aerate the cider, enhancing the natural fizz & to be consumed at once)! This thankless task was perfomed as usual in style by Hosin & Leche, gracias gentlemen! 

More great Jazzfunk, Crossover, 70’s & 80’s tunes during the afternoon thanks to Areta & Herminio & some suspicious cattle rustling thanks to the Hobbits….

Saturday night started around 10pm with another Smörgåsbord of fabulous food, wine & company in the grand hall. Then is was next door for the Saturday allnighter, busier than Friday & a great atmosphere from the very start! 

The dancefloor was full all night, everyone was smiling & the sounds just kept coming!

Again wonderful sets from all the Dj’s! Great to hear Nick & Jordi as this weekend was the first time I’d ever heard them play & I liked what I heard! Always a pleasure to hear Dave Ripolles & Jadd too!

Joel also played some great stuff as did David, Juan, Josep A, Luisma, Herminio & Jaunvi! Have I missed anyone??

If I have I must say in my defence the gin & tonics were rather large at this juncture….

Stand out records I can remember of the evening included from,Dave, Jordi, Jadd, Juan, JosepA, David, Luisma,

The Saints – I’ll let you slide – Wig-Wam,

Faye Hill & The Hill Sisters – Gonna Get Even – Blue Dolphin ,

Lorenzo Carpenter & Black Heritage – My Black Sister – Vincent

Harvey Scales – Trying To Survive – Magic Touch

Ralphie Weeks – Let Me Do My Thing – Sally Ruth

Chuck Stephens – Payin’ For your Love – Leo Mini

Inell Young – What Do You See In Her – Libra

Jimmy Bo Horne – I just can’t speak – Dade

Patrinell Staten – Little Love Affair – Sepia

Vanguards – Good Times, Bad Times – Lamp

And from in his own words & apparently the way he would now like to be addressed for any possible future gigs, The Maslinmeister, The Big Maslowski, Maslinator, The Chosen One &/or Sexy Maslintime,,,

Billy Byrd – Lost In The Crowd – Scream

Bobby Blues Ray – Soul – Sac Soul City

Chymes – Wrong Crowd – Margie

Ron Harrington – Love Never Hurt No One – C/U

Theron & Darryl – I Was Made To Love Her – Solo

Norma jean – I’ve Taken Over – Hep Me

Sunday morning & back to the spa(a bit less vigor this time)…Dressed & went to lunch, fortunately in that order. 

Sunday lunch was the traditional “Fabada” served in the grand hall. An absolutely delicious lunch, but two nights of partying eventually & quite suddenly caught up with me, so I had to retire to my room for a traditional “lie down” immediately afterwards!!!

Apologies for not saying farewell to everyone who left after lunch as quite a few did.

Once suitably recovered it was back downstairs for a relaxing evening of drinking, chilling & spinning disks with the remaining hardcore who stayed for Sunday night too. More great tunes, booze, food & a lot of laughs!! 

A massive thank you to Luisma, Mencia, Benji(the hotel owner), all the friendly staff & everyone else that helped bring the weekend together, to Dru, Tracy, Pete, Maslinator & to all our friends(too many to mention) that made another brilliant, memorable weekend!!!

Here’s to another five wonderful years!!!!! If you haven’t experienced it yet, it’s about time you did!

 Cheers Ady xx

Here are some of the tracks I remember playing over the weekend,
 
Timmy Thomas & Betty Wright – Ebony Affair – Glades
Brotherhood – Given My Love – MCA
The Montclaires – Hey You – Arch
The Masquaders – That’s the same thing – Soultown
Delegates of Soul – I’ll come running back – Uplook
Kenny Wells – Isn’t it just a shame – New Voice
Roy Robert – I know what to do – Tina
Glen Miller – Where is the love – Stag
Willie Tee – First taste of hurt – Gatur
Sherrell Bros – The Price – Currison
Celest Hardie – You’re Gone – Reynolds
Gene Chandler – There was a time – Brunswick
Curtis Mayfield – Move On Up – Buddah
Luther Davis Group – You can be a star – Life Time
Executive Jam – I’m into you – Third Street
Dolly Gilmore – Sweet sweet baby – Dove
The Earles – Everybody’s got somebody – Tee-Ti
T.S.U. Toronados – Please heart don’t break – Rampart St
Larry Davis & The Marvells – The Magic is Gone – Decca
The Ascots – Just a few feet from the gutter – American Playboy
Stevens & Foster – I want to be love – Jerri
Everyday People – World full of people – Brownstone 
Eula Cooper – Let our love grow stronger – Super Sound
Jerry Washington – Don’t waste my time – Glades
Soul Bros Inc – Pyramid – Golden Eye
Richard Caiton – Take a hold brother & sister – Uptight
Wade Flemons – Two of a kind – Ramsel
The Fantastics – Where there’s a will – Impresario
Freedom – Can’t you see – Freedom
Beverly Crosby – You can be my lover – Bareback
Marva Lee – Old & Grey – Rugby 
J.T. Rhythm – All I want is you – Palmer
Ree Flores – Look into my heart – M&H
The Temptones – Girl I love you – Arctic
Moses Dillard – I’ll pay the price – Mark V
The Stimulation – Can you dig where I’m coming from – Hi-Stepping
Louis Curry – I’ll try again tomorrow – M-S
Clydie King – Missin’ my baby – Imperial
Andrea Henry – I need you like a baby – MGM
Benny Harper – My Prayer – Harper-Soul
J.P. Robinson – Keep me satisfied – Blue Candle
Clydie King – Soft & gentle ways – Imperial
Freddie Houston – If I had known – Old Town 
 
 
